This Writer’s Road: Melinda Dozier

MelindaDozierAuthor     Today I’m thrilled to welcome Melinda Dozier, who will share a little about her trip down her writer’s road.   Melinda teaches, is a mom, and loves to play rule breaker.  She’s also the author of Breaking the Rules, which features a couple in an unusual situation, given the expectations of others as to how they should manage their lives.  Without further ado, let’s find out a little more about Melinda Dozier and Breaking the Rules.  Then, please click on the Rio Round Up link to find out more about Melinda, and read the blurb and an excerpt for Breaking the Rules.

 Melinda, as fellow Crimson Romance authors, I’ve had the opportunity to find out a little about you.  But more is always better. What biographical information is important to your writing journey?

I have always been a huge romance reader and I think that’s vital for any author – to read! I’m also a writing teacher and I strive to motivate my students to like to write, which is a challenge for most twelve-year-old boys.

What has been the most persistent and troubling obstacle on your journey so far?

 “We are time’s subjects, and time bids be gone.” – William Shakespeare. TIME, Time Time! Since I’m a mom to three boys, a wife and a full-time teacher I rarely have the time to do what I want to do. I’ve had to block out “time” to write and sacrifice parts of my life that I normally wouldn’t. My poor little guys have had way too many pizza nights.

You mention that a lack of time has been a stumbling block towards going where you want on this journey.  What have been the perks, the rewards, the kicks in the proverbial pants that keep you moving on anyway?

Actually becoming a published writer has justified all the sacrifices my family and I have to take. Just knowing that other people are reading my work and enjoying it is the biggest reward!

In Breaking the Rules, Hope Robinson works in a field that generally discourages rule-breaking or ‘wild’ behavior—she’s a middle school principal.  How would Hope’s spirit—and klutziness—affect the atmosphere in middle school?

Hope has just moved to Harbor Bay Prep and she upholds a competent attitude at all times – except when she trips or falls – poor thing. She tries so hard to keep it together. When Colin comes in and nudges her to date, she finds it very hard to break the unspoken rules of dating a father. You’ll have to read to see how she handles it.

Hope’s love interest, Dr. Colin Calaway, doesn’t seem to follow rules too well himself…that’s not a question, just an observation.  I sort of got distracted by the excerpt.  What would you like us to know about the good doctor that I’m too distracted to ask?

He’s learned the hard way that life is too short to let it pass by without enjoying what you want. Hence the part about breaking the rules.

Colin has lived through many trials, but he has done a great job at raising his son alone and maintaining his clinic and job. He’s respected in the community and knows that there’s always a way around something like rules holding them back. He knows that life is too short to just sit back when his heart is screaming for a connection.

Writers all set out on their respective writers’ roads with hope courage, and determination.  Some get farther than others.  Some are never sure where they’re going, but figure they’ll know when they get there.  Where do you think you’re going, if you know, and how would you judge your progress?

My goal is to become a full-time writer. Once I have several books under my belt and can support my family in the ways we need, I’ll get there! When you know something is right – you just feel it and that’s what my heart is telling me.

 

Please share something personal and important to you that I didn’t know to ask—about your writing, life—whatever would mean the most for you to tell us at this moment in your journey.

One of my favorite parts of this experience has been the motivation I’ve seen in my son’s eyes. He sees the process I go through with each book and he’s excited with me. Now, he’s writing his own book and it’s really good! I’m so proud of him! There’s nothing better than sharing a love with someone you love so much.

Thank you so much, Leslie, for having me here today. It’s been enlightening!

Melinda and I would love to have you comment when you stop by.  Also, remember to read the excerpt at Rio Round Up.

BTR-Book-Tour-Banner_128FinalImageBTR

About Leslie P Garcia

A well-intentioned principal posted my first story, Ricky and Tricky's Christmas, when I was six years old, condemning me to a life spent writing. I've lived on the Texas-Mexico border for what is now most of my life, am an educator, mother, and grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

