Gift Yourself–The Santa Drag, Free!!

santadragreal

Black Friday FREEBIE!

From 11/28 – 11/30/14, The Santa Drag is FREE from Amazon! Reviewers have called this story charming and funny, so for a quick holiday pick-me-up, one-click The Santa Drag.

Blurb:

Things aren’t always what they seem, and this shopping mall Santa has a secret only true love can reveal.  Mackenzie’s an out-of-work actress who takes a job as a shopping mall Santa to pay the rent. She fools everyone with her Santa drag, until the day Joe McBride walks into the mall. Joseph Timothy McBride – the real-life, got a soap opera gig and you saw him in Scream II actor. The only guy she ever really loved. Can Mack stay in character, or is it time to strip off the red coat and peel off the beard for good?  The Santa Drag is a 6,000 word short story about a Santa with a secret, stressed out parents in the mall, and one very handsome actor.

Excerpt:

“Hey Santa, smile again,” Maya said, her eyes crinkling with suspicion.

I’d drifted off into my own thoughts while still holding the baby. It was starting to droop towards the left, and its next stop would be the pile of packages at my feet. Oops. I gave the heartiest “Ho-ho-ho,” I could muster and shifted the baby back into the crook of my arm. After a month, you’d think I’d be better at managing the little ones.

A quick glance revealed Shauna chatting brightly with Joe. Two kids had come out of the crowd and stationed themselves on either side of him. The girl was holding onto his arm. My Santa-glamour almost cracked at the thought that he’d married someone else and had children.

The young mother finally reclaimed the baby from my lap, which gave me half a minute to myself. The line of squirrely kids and stressed-out parents who were waiting to have photos taken with Santa was way too long for me to take a break. My heart rate jacked up a few more notches when Joe and the kids joined the end of the line.

I took several deep breaths to try to calm my nerves. Didn’t help. I told myself the grapevine would have reported the event if Joe had married someone. That didn’t help, either. I reminded myself he’d sent me roses for my birthday every year since I was nineteen years old, when we were still in college and had barely started dating. The first couple of years he was in L.A., it was only one rose, and I worried he’d have to eat ramen noodles for a week to pay the florist. The year he made Scream II, he sent a dozen big fat scarlet blooms. When they started to fade, I hung them upside down to dry and then put them in a silk bag in my underwear drawer. In the language of flowers, red roses mean true love, and somehow I never doubted he still loved me.

Buy Link:

The Santa Drag is available exclusively from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Santa-Drag-Liv-Rancourt-ebook/dp/B00PG7W6KO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1415974210&sr=8-1&keywords=santa+drag

Liv Rancourt Bio:

I write romance: m/f, m/m, and v/h, where the h is for human and the v is for vampire…or sometimes demon. I write funny. I don’t write angst. When I’m not writing I take care of tiny premature babies or teenagers, depending on whether I’m at home or at work. My husband is a soul of patience, my dog is the cutest thing evah(!), and we’re up to three ferrets.

I can be found on-line at all hours of the day and night at my website & blog (www.livrancourt.com), on Facebook (www.facebook.com/liv.rancourt), or on Twitter (www.twitter.com/LivRancourt). Come find me. We’ll have fun!

About Leslie P Garcia

A well-intentioned principal posted my first story, Ricky and Tricky's Christmas, when I was six years old, condemning me to a life spent writing. I've lived on the Texas-Mexico border for what is now most of my life, am an educator, mother, and grandmother.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

